Presidential contenders draw ballot numbers at CEC

By Ko Lin

The Central Election Commission (CEC) announced Monday that all three registered presidential candidates qualify to compete in the January 16 election and held a drawing to determine their number on the ballot

The three tickets, in the order of their ballot numbers, are: Kuomintang’s Eric Chu and his running mate Jennifer Wang; Democratic Progressive Party’s Tsai Ing-wen and her running mate Chen Chien-jen; and People First Party James Soong and his running mate Hsu Hsin-ying.

The January 16 election, now 33 days away, will be held to elect the 14th President of the Republic of China, Vice President and members of the 9th Legislative Yuan.

For the first time in Taiwan’s electoral history, no vice presidential candidate shares a party affiliation with any presidential candidate.

With the candidates following the sequence in which they had registered, PFP Vice Chairman Chang Chao-hsiung drew first on behalf of his party candidates and got the number three.

Since neither Chu nor Wang attended the drawing, KMT Secretary-General Lee Shu-chuan drew for them. The Chu-Wang duo consequently received the number one ticket.

On behalf of the DPP, Tsai’s campaign chief executive officer Lin Hsi-yao drew the number two ticket, ending the ballot draw at the CEC in the morning.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s